March 27, 2015

“Get out.”

“I’m not technically in,” he said. “So I can’t really get out.”

He was right. He was still on doorstep.

She knew she should never have opened the door…. And she wouldn’t have if she’d known he was on the other side.

“All right, then,” she said. “Go away. Is that clear enough?”

“You’re not even going to give me five minutes to explain myself?”

“Nope,” she said. “Leave. Now.”

He looked down at the pizza he was holding and looked back up at her.

“Come on,” he said. “It’s your favorite. And it’s hot. Bringing your favorite pizza doesn’t buy me five minutes?”

“Bringing the pope wouldn’t get you five minutes.”

“I didn’t know you liked the Pope,” he said. “You’re not even Catholic.”

She rolled her eyes and moved to slam the door in his face.

She had managed to swing the door halfway shut before she stopped herself. She eyed the pizza, considering, for a moment. It was still a perfectly good pizza…. It shouldn’t go to waste, should it?

He smiled, hopeful… He knew the pizza thing would work. Much more effective than flowers.

She considered the situation carefully, and his grin slid off of his face as she glared at him. Finally, she made a decision. He was more than a little surprised when she grabbed her keys, stuffing them in her pocket before pulling the pizza box out of his hands.

“Where are you going?” he asked, seemingly a reasonable question, since she’d swiped his pizza and taken off down the street.

“None of your business,” she said.

“I think it’s very much my business,” he said. “Since that’s my pizza and you’re my girlfriend.”

“This,” she said, nodding at it. “Is no longer your pizza. You’ve relinquished custody to me. And there’s no way in hell I’m your girlfriend.”

He didn’t know what to say to that.

It wasn’t long before she found what she was looking for – a rather large bundle of rags sitting on the corner. She reached down, balancing the pizza with one arm, gently nudging what turned out to be a homeless person hidden beneath a sizeable pile of blankets.

“Excuse me, sir,” she said politely. “Would you like this?”

A big grin spread across the man’s face as he reached up to take the pizza, like he was accepting an academy award.

“Thank you,” the man said.

“You’re welcome.”

“You’re just going to give it away?” he asked.

“Yes, Steve,” she answered, glowering. “I’m just going to give it away. At least it’s mine to give…. You would know about giving away things that don’t belong to you, wouldn’t you?”

Forcing the smile back on her face, she looked at the homeless man.

“I hope you enjoy it,” she said. “Have a lovely day.”

It was surprising how fast she moved, now unencumbered by pizza, it took him a little bit to catch up with her.

“Now will you talk to me?” he asked.

“Why should I talk to you?” she said. “Has anything changed from ten minutes ago?”

“N-no…. but…”

The door slamming in his face cut off whatever brilliant reply he might have come up with.

He shook his head at the wooden door and started making his way home, slowly walking away, as though walking slowly might somehow give her more time to change her mind.

Writing Prompt:

drabble (100 words) * A Homeless Person * Pizza

(over word count, obviously….)

Prompt Courtesy of:

http://panthermoon.com/generators/generator5.php

Image Courtesy of:

http://www.morguefile.com/